Reviews - Flying Dutchman Southampton

Great value - Rating 4/5

Staff were friendly and helpful. Room clean and bed very comfortable. I had a single room that was a little bit of a squeeze but adequate for my needs. Only thing to moan about was the noise from road traffic all through the night. I think I was just unlucky to have a room right at the front of the building overlooking the traffic junction and it probably wouldn\'t have been an issue with the other rooms.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback and a great review.

Reviewer:Mr ellis | Fri 8th Dec 2017


Overnight stay for work - Rating 5/5

Great value for money, friendly chatty and smiling staff and a cracking cooked breakfast.

Response

Thank you so much for the great review.

Reviewer:Robert Partridge | Thu 7th Dec 2017


Big bed! - Rating 5/5

We opted for a room with a super king bed and slept well. As the owners point out the location can be noisy but we were on second floor and I took earplugs and slept well. Free simple breakfast or pay a modest price for a cooked breakfast. Friendly owner chatted and I appreciated that he popped out to get me a non dairy alternative for milk. Whole place was clean and we had a good stay. We’d go again :)

Response

Thank you for the lovely comments and great review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Charlotte Newey | Sun 3rd Dec 2017


Excellent value for money. - Rating 5/5

I can\'t fault the Flying Dutchman. Friendly, clean and ideally situated.

Response

Thank you so much for staying with us and hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Sean Pritchard-Williams | Fri 1st Dec 2017


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Most noticeable was the very helpful and friendly staff. Room was comfortable and enjoyed the cooked breakfast. Location was perfect but parking was a bit of a problem. Would recommend and have left a positive review on booking.com Thanks to all for making it a pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Richard Hussey | Sun 26th Nov 2017


Good experience- Rating 4/5

Excellent staff. Good experience. I recommend this hotel

Response

Thank you for the great review.

Reviewer:Cedrine | Wed 8th Nov 2017


No complaints - Rating 4/5

Clean, comfortable and friendly 👍

Response

Thank you so much for the great review.

Reviewer:Anthony Fiteni | Sat 4th Nov 2017


One night stay - Rating 4/5

Room was good clean and tidy, ensuite was on the small side but adequate for one night. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would use hotel again.

Response

Thank you for the great feedback we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Christine Young | Fri 13th Oct 2017


Location, Location, Location - Rating 5/5

Great little pub right in the center of southampton. Perfect for a night out, walking distance from bars and restaurants. Rooms a good size and had a massive bed! breakfast is included and good choice too.Would definately stay here again.

Response

Thank you so much for the great review and kind comments. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewer:Alan Tucker | Mon 21st Aug 2017


Comfortable and clean - Rating 4/5

Although the single room was small, it was comfortable and clean.The continental breakfast was good and is served up to noon which is a very welcome change from the normal 9.30-10.00am deadline!

Response

Your feedback and comments are very much appreciated so thank you for taking the time to leave a great review.Kind regards

Reviewer:ElaineGroom | Tue 8th Aug 2017


good stay and value fir money - Rating 5/5

Did exactly what it said on the tinGreat value for money. Clean, functional,Excellently located and very helpful reception. Wouldnt hesitatr to stay there again

Response

Thank you so much for the great review and comments. We have tried to advertise the Hotel and bar as it is and altho our services are limited we want them to be the best they can be. Hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards

Reviewer:Max Angliss | Fri 4th Aug 2017


Nice rooms and friendly staff- Rating 4/5

Nice and easy to book in, I was shown up to my room which is rare these days. Comfortable room, decent shower and generally very clean. Staff were very helpful. If I had one gripe it would be that the breakfast was served a little late (8am) but I will stay again when in the area

Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. The issue you have highlighted is being looked at and we are hoping with the refurbishment work that you could see was currently taking place, the hotel can provide more facilities such as cooked breakfast at an earlier time. We hope that if you return to the Hotel at a later date you will be happier with our services and can see an improvement.

Reviewer:Lee Dyett | Fri 14th Jul 2017


A very comfortable stay in a pleasant environment- Rating 4/5

The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and keen to do anything to make our stay comfortable. Breakfast was a bonus we hadn\'t expected and was a nice surprise. We had requested a quiet room and that request was fulfilled. Everyone there is working hard to make things as good as they can be.

Response

Thank you so much for the great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us comments.

Reviewer:Joan Menere | Wed 12th Jul 2017


well located - Rating 3/5

from the dutchman, so easy to get anywhere in southampton - clean/neat room (though very small) and bathroom - in spite of street noise, very quiet by 11PM or so and slept well in a comfortable bed -

Response

Thank you for your kind feedback. We\'re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future, should you choose our hotel again! Kindest regards from all the team at the Flying Dutchman!

Reviewer:Kathleen Etter | Sun 18th Jun 2017


Goodplace to stay for St mary\'s stadium- Rating 5/5

Very nice stay for Robbieconcert.Short walk to stadium and Oxford Street. Lovely breakfast good selection to choose from,friendly staff clean room I recommend this hotel.

Response

We really appreciate the great feedback and review. Hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. STEFAN NIEWOLIK | Thu 8th Jun 2017


Stay at the flying dutchman - Rating 4/5

Comfortable roomFriend and helpful staffClean environmentpleasant stay

Response

Thank you very much for the review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Cedric Cole | Sat 3rd Jun 2017


Work in progress - Rating 3/5

Overall mixed. Low cost option, clean and friendly but wasn\'t really suitable for my needs for this trip. However, under new management and lots in progress and plannned - feels as though it\'s worth a revisit when all is done. New owners here are lovely - friendly, helpful and efficient. The location is also great - 10 mins walk from Ocean Cruise Terminal and 15 mins from West Quay through the old part of the city, and plenty of shops, bra and restaurants on the way. Big car park just across the road but £10 per day is expensive. Further away there are some slightly cheaper options.However, the room wasn\'t good for me - single room is very small with nowhere to hang or store clothes - if travelling alone better still to book a double room, I suspect. Very noisy as right by a busy cross-roads junction. Scaffolding outside and window very difficult to open. Breakfast is fine but limited. Once work in progress is completed it feels as though it will be a great choice but for now, you get what you pay for, which is an efficient place with awarm friendly welcome, comfortable bed, and clean and simple accommodation but not suitable for everyone. I will happily return but will give them time to finish the improvements before I do.

Response

Thank you for the great feedback and comments. We will look forward to having you stay with us again when all our work is complete and our facilities can be improved.

Reviewer:Kit | Sun 28th May 2017


Two runners - Rating 5/5

Used the Flying Dutchman as a base for the Isle of Wight Coastal Challenge with a friend. Room was lovely and very clean. Found the staff very kind and personable - would definitely recommend.

Response

Thank you for the lovely comments and great feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Adam U\'Glow Jones | Tue 2nd May 2017


Very Good - Rating 4/5

Room clean. No storage for clothes if you are staying for several days so a tallboy would be good. Can be a bit noisy as only single glazed and right by a junction. Slept well in comfortable bed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will stay here again.

Response

Thank you for your feedback and kind comments. We are awaiting a mini refurbishment which is allowing us to look at room arrangements and storage issues. Hopefully dates will be confirmed soon and this issue can be addressed and resolved. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Amos | Tue 11th Apr 2017


Great Value and right in the heart of Southampton - Rating 4/5

Stayed here overnight for a work party, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean, had everything needed and I had a great undisturbed nights sleep. Only negative for me was Sunday morning I had to leave by 8am to go to work, and breakfast hadn\'t started. But to be fair, it was a Sunday morning. I would definitely stay here again.

Response

Thank you for your great comments .

Reviewer:Adam Ososki | Mon 10th Apr 2017


April 1st - 2nd - Rating 3/5

I thought I had booked a single room and ensuite but I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the spacious room and double bed. It is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel in an old building,I am always cautious of the showers being rubbish, either really hot or cold, but the shower was up to standards. Everything was as expected with the room. The only thing that I would have to say - not that its a fault for the Flying Dutchman is when I turned up after my full day of travelling I didn\'t realise when I booked the hotel it was also a pub! So I was embarrassed to go to the bouncers with my suitcases and scruffy face and hair and ask themwhere i check in, pushing through the groups of rowdy men, and then climbing up a maze of stairs with a REALLY heavy big suitcase (my room was on the top, though i appreciate this as it was peaceful) - obviously this is my fault, but i didn\'t realise when i booked what kind of hotel it was, I would have been better in a IBIS or something.

Response

Thank you for the feedback and am sorry that you felt uncomfortable when checking in. We are closely located to the Southampton Football clubs stadium which on home games means we can get very busy. However we do try make sure that our hotel guests are not too affected by this and the door staff help us to make sure guests can be checked in as a priority. We are glad you had a good stay apart from this and would hope you still consider staying at the Flying Dutchman in the future.

Reviewer:Lauren Dawes | Mon 3rd Apr 2017