Reviews - Flying Dutchman Southampton

Great location - Rating 5/5

Nice clean spacious rooms.Breakfast was very good. Friendly and helpful stafftravelled down for Southampton vs Newcastle football game. Great location for stadium. Many thanks

Reviewer:Steven A | Mon 9th Mar 2020 | 2 months ago


Amazing- Rating 5/5

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The rooms were clean, toilet fantastic, bed super comfy and the environment was also nice.

Reviewer:Awwal A | Wed 4th Mar 2020 | 2 months ago


Amazing stay, will return again 100%- Rating 5/5

Amazing stay, very clean room with all amenities. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location and value for money. Will return again soon! Thanks so much!

Reviewer:Matthew D | Mon 24th Feb 2020 | 2 months ago


Super enjoyable stay! - Rating 5/5

The place is great:room is super cosy, clean and has everything you need:kettle, tea, coffee, glasses, mugs and hairdryer plus enough sockets to charge all my bike electrical devices. The manager was super kind and let me keep my bike overnight in their function room.And now the food:the chef is an artist, the pie and mash I had was one of the best I've had. The same with the breakfast, the way it is served is typical of a good restaurant not a pub.I would highly recommend this place for both long and short term stay.

Reviewer:Tomasz S | Sun 23rd Feb 2020 | 2 months ago


Good all round - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, friendly staff with nice bar and seating. Good dining area with quality food and service. Reasonable prices.

Reviewer:Paul H | Sun 23rd Feb 2020 | 2 months ago


Truly Delightful all round - Rating 5/5

This was a great hotel, the pictures really do not do it justice! I often stay in budget hotels for work, but this was truly a treat, the price did not reflect the accommodation. They also offered 20% off food bill for staying guests. The food was restaurant quality and the breakfast team where amazing! Wonderful place, I intend on going back with the wife for a night away. I wish them every success and highly recommend.

Reviewer:Suzanne H | Thu 13th Feb 2020 | 3 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Nice clean rooms, delicious breakfast, reasonable prices and friendly staff

Reviewer:Charlie G | Tue 4th Feb 2020 | 3 months ago


Perfect for half the price- Rating 5/5

I'll be honest, since I was only staying for one night I didn't look too much into quality, I just wanted the cheapest possible room that was close to the friends I was visiting. For only £50 just outside the city centre I didn't expect much.What I got was a cosy pub atmosphere, a room packed with everything I could possibly need on my stay, a bed I almost missed check-out because of, and a breakfast I'm still full from a day later. This will now be my go-to for any stay in Southampton from now on.

Reviewer:Samuel H | Fri 31st Jan 2020 | 3 months ago


Great Stay- Rating 5/5

Clean, tidy and very comfortable

Reviewer:James G | Tue 28th Jan 2020 | 3 months ago


Lovely pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

The staff were very freindly and helpful on arrival.. the room was superb . Lovely big room with nice spa bath. Spotlessly clesn lovely big comfy bed. Will definitly be returning. Brilliant value for money.

Reviewer:joanne c | Tue 21st Jan 2020 | 3 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

We had a brilliant stay staff were very friendly room was spotless bed was so comfy. All around great stay lovely place.

Reviewer:Louisa J | Mon 20th Jan 2020 | 4 months ago


Fantastic individual hotel!- Rating 5/5

First impressions are everything and the staff at The Flying Dutchman excelled at providing an impeccable one, being warm, smiling, welcoming and genuinely friendly.I was given a swift but detailed and informative précis of the hotel facilities, bar and restaurant opening times (basically always) and a reassuring explanation of the operation of the fob system for the main entry door. I then had my bags carried through this delightful and quaint rabbit warren of a building to my room, all the while being given a potted history of it and then being informed that the crew of the Titanic had stayed there on the night prior to setting out on its fateful voyage, so giving context to its quirky arrangement. The room was compact but impressively clean. With a comfy bed and a good shower and I was presented in the morning with a continental breakfast selection and then a fabulous cooked breakfast including the most impressive and fabulously cooked black pudding I’ve ever tasted. When working in the bar area later, sitting in a comfy leather chair, I was served with homemade spicy peanuts and the hotel’s version of pork crackling, made from chicken skin both of which were fabulously cooked and dressed with a wonderful garnish of sliced spring onions and chillies. As the icing on the cake of this fabulous experience, I discovered the hotel is dog friendly and accepts dogs in a guests room for only £15 extra per night. Definitely, absolutely, an experience to be repeated!

Reviewer:Peter W | Fri 17th Jan 2020 | 4 months ago


Great Place to be- Rating 4/5

Hospitable friendly and welcoming atmosphere

Reviewer:Glen M | Sun 12th Jan 2020 | 4 months ago


SOTIRIOS SHINAS- Rating 5/5

Value for money hotel.Due to my very late arrival it took me sometime to enter the hotel, as no one was at the reception at 01:00 AM. Clean room and public spaces. Friendly and polite staff.

Reviewer:PanagiotisSOTIRIOS S | Wed 8th Jan 2020 | 4 months ago


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

The staff were great!Joe, Emily, and Kathryn in particular.They all went beyond their duties to make us feel welcome and taken care of.We felt at home there.We’ve all spoken very highly of the Flying Dutchman since our return to the states and, should we ever return to Southampton, we will definitely choose this location as our home away from home.Cheers!

Reviewer:Cullen J. O | Sat 28th Dec 2019 | 4 months ago


fabulous stay- Rating 5/5

couldn't fault our stay at the Flying Dutchman, from booking to check out, the staff, service, room and food was excellent

Reviewer:john taylor| Sat 28th Dec 2019 | 4 months ago


can't wait to return- Rating 5/5

we've stayed a few times over the last 6 months and the experience keeps improving. keep it up guys.

Reviewer:Tom D | Sat 28th Dec 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely and peaceful hotel- Rating 5/5

Amazing place beautiful nice, quiet, clean and good breakfast

Response

Hi Diana,Thank you so much for your review.We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.RegardsThe Flying Dutchman Management

Reviewer:diana e | Wed 25th Dec 2019 | 4 months ago


Flying Dutchman review - Rating 4/5

Lovely staff, amazing breakfast!

Response

Thank you for your review. As a team we continuously look to make improvements and your comments will be taken into consideration to do so.We hope to see you again in the future.RegardsFlying Dutchman Management

Reviewer:mark n | Wed 4th Dec 2019 | 5 months ago


Fantastically- Rating 5/5

Booked here at the last minute due to ?ood reviews and was not disappointed. Great value for money and everything was done very well from checking in, to sleeping, to breakfast and checking out. Clean and modern room, lovely staff, great brekkie and catered well for vegans and at a really good price. This will be the first place i look up when i am staying in southampton next.

Response

Thank you for your review. As a team we continuously look to make improvements and your comments will be taken into consideration to do so.We hope to see you again in the future.RegardsFlying Dutchman Management

Reviewer:Michelle B | Mon 25th Nov 2019 | 5 months ago


Pre-cruise stay - Rating 4/5

Good sized room, food excellent, convenient for city centre and not far from the Cruise Terminal.The stairs were a challenge for anyone with mobility issues.Excellent value for money.

Response

Thank you for your review. As a team we continuously look to make improvements and your comments will be taken into consideration to do so.We hope to see you again in the future.RegardsFlying Dutchman Management

Reviewer:Rose B | Mon 25th Nov 2019 | 5 months ago


Unpretentious accommodation with a personal touch. - Rating 5/5

Good located accommodation, easy-going environment, clean amenities, comfortable bed, professilnal and friendly young staff, great bar and casual dining facility.

Response

Thank you for your review. As a team we continuously look to make improvements and your comments will be taken into consideration to do so.We hope to see you again in the future.RegardsFlying Dutchman Management

Reviewer:Cristian B | Thu 14th Nov 2019 | 6 months ago


Wonderful- Rating 5/5

Great location very clean,staff very helpful.parking was easy being across the road reasonably priced and safe

Response

Thank you for your review. As a team we continuously look to make improvements and your comments will be taken into consideration to do so.We hope to see you again in the future.RegardsFlying Dutchman Management

Reviewer:Duncan H | Mon 28th Oct 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Room was beautiful, bathroom huge, all spotlessly clean &the staff very welcoming. They advised there was a function on in the bar below the room however we didn’t hear a thing &had an amazing stay.I’d highly recommend!

Response

Hi Joanne,Thank you for the review. I am so glad to see that your stay with here was thoroughly enjoyed;I\\\'m pleased to hear you informed prior that there would be a function and I hope the staff staff catered to your needs in any way they could. Thank you so much for the recommendation also it will be deeply appreciated from the entire staff team. We hope to have you come back and stay with us again soon!Kindest Regards, The Flying Dutchman Management

Reviewer:Joanne D | Sat 26th Oct 2019 | 6 months ago


Over night stay before a cruise- Rating 4/5

The Flying Dutchman was a good place to stay for our overnight before travelling to the port to get on our cruise ship. The room was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly. The problem that we found was that the stairs to the rooms were very steep and it was a struggle taking our cases up to the room. There is no elevator for disabled or elderly people so it would probably be very difficult for those to stay at the Flying Dutchman. The breakfast was very good and the service staff were very friendly and helpful.

Response

Thank you for your review. As a team we continuously look to make improvements and your comments will be taken into consideration to do so.We hope to see you again in the future.RegardsFlying Dutchman Management

Reviewer:David A | Fri 25th Oct 2019 | 6 months ago


Personal view- Rating 4/5

Thank you for your good reception and I hope you carry on the same spirit to the other guests as well.However, I expected to find a flowing WiFi and a small chair and did not get that, so I hope this is taken as action points with future guests.ThankCustomer

Response

Thank you for your review. As a team we continuously look to make improvements and your comments will be taken into consideration to do so.We hope to see you again in the future.RegardsFlying Dutchman Management

Reviewer:Robert M | Wed 23rd Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


Last minute booking - Rating 4/5

We booked the room last minute as we were travelling through Southampton. It was perfect for what we needed just somewhere to stay for the night at a reasonable price. Staff were lovely and the breakfast was great

Response

Thank you for your review. As a team we continuously look to make improvements and your comments will be taken into consideration to do so.We hope to see you again in the future.RegardsFlying Dutchman Management

Reviewer:Alice F | Wed 23rd Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


One night away- Rating 4/5

Clean room all i needed very good breakfastThe scrambeld egg superb, nice coffee and well diffrent toast

Response

Hi Sean,Thank you for leaving a review, I\'m glad your stay with us here was well enjoyed and you left satisfied by the service you received. Thank you for your applause on our breakfast, I will be informing the chef of your kind words. Please do come back and stay if you visit Southampton again.Kindest Regards, The Flying Dutchman Management

Reviewer:Sean J | Thu 17th Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


Very good customer service. - Rating 5/5

What a gem of a hotel. I have no complaints. The service was impeccable and would recommend it to all. I shall be back.

Response

Hi Lisa,Thank you for your review, I\'m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received during your reside here.We look forward to having you stay with us again.Kindest Regards,The Flying Dutchman Management

Reviewer:Lisa H | Tue 15th Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


Stay at Flying Dutchman - Rating 4/5

I had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Room was clean. Staff friendly. The mattress was too soft though.

Response

Hi Audrey, thank you for your review. I\\\'m glad your overall stay was enjoyed and thank you for the compliments on the staff and our service. Apologies in regards to the mattress, we understand everyone has a different comfort level when it comes to resting - we do try our hardest to cater to everyone. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Flying Dutchman Management

Reviewer:Audrey J | Sun 6th Oct 2019 | 7 months ago


Absolutely Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

Right from check in our stay was fantastic! We were helped with our bags up to the room, which was spotlessly clean and the bed was amazingly comfortable! We then headed down to the bar to receive fantastic service. The whole experience start to finish was just brilliant. 100% would recommend and would definitely stay again.

Response

Hi Samantha,Thank you so much for the review, I\'m really glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here. The entire team will be deeply appreciative of all your compliments towards their services and I\'m happy to hear they were welcomed and accommodating during your visit. Here at the Flying Dutchman we like to uphold the highest possible standard when it comes to our facilities and our services that we provide and I\'m glad you were able to experience that. We would love to have you come back and stay with us soon.Kindest Regards, Morwenna

Reviewer:Samantha C | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Good room good location - Rating 4/5

Our room was clean and comfortable, the shower could have functioned a little better but was adequate. Our evening meal was very good as was our breakfast. We parked our car across the road from the hotel the centre of town was a short walk away.

Response

Hi Andrew,Thank you for your kind review, I\'m happy to see that the overall stay was pleasant and enjoyable for you and I do hope that you felt welcomed and well looked-after by our staff. Apologies regarding the shower, we are about to go through a large refurbishment and we love hearing feedback on the facilities so we can input them into the planning. I do hope you come and stay with us again soon.Kind Regards, Morwenna

Reviewer:Andrew F K | Thu 26th Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Mr - Rating 5/5

Spotless and clean , staff really helpfull .We paid extra for breakfast but it wasnt very nice . I would definitely go again , but not have breakfast.

Response

Hi Ian,Thank you for your review, I\'m glad you enjoyed your overall stay here with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding the accommodation and our staff;this will be passed back through the team. I do apologise that you did not find the breakfast to your satisfaction, we understand that our menu isn\'t to everyone\'s palette and we try and cater for all guests the best we can. We do hope that you come and stay with us soon.Kind Regards, Morwenna

Reviewer:Ian W | Wed 25th Sep 2019 | 7 months ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Very nice hotel. Good room, but a bit noisy.Fantastic breakfast.Most of the staff members were very kind.

Response

Hi Elsa,Thank you for your review. I\'m very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind words on our staff and the breakfast, I will share these comments with my team. I do apologise about the noise levels, this is an issue we are looking to tackle in the coming months.Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Elsa M | Fri 20th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Perfect, really pleasant.Great location.

Response

Hi James, thank you so much for your review. I\'m glad you enjoyed your stay with us here, thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and we hope you come and stay with us again soon.Regards, Morwenna

Reviewer:James S | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


great stay - Rating 5/5

Yes lovely room, quiet, great bathroom, loved the pillows! Fabulous reakfast thanks. Definitely recommended...

Response

Hi Clifford, thank you for your review! I\\\'m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. All your kind words will be relayed back to the staff as this is the standard we like to uphold, we do hope you so come and stay with us again if you are ever back in Southampton.Regards, Morwenna

Reviewer:clifford w | Sun 15th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Clean, friendly, helpful - Rating 4/5

Came for the England football at St Mary's, which was in easy walking distance, as was the city centre. Nice room, good breakfast, and the bar kept serving those staying the night after 11pm, which was appreciated

Response

Hi Philip,Thank you for your review. It\'s good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here. Thank you, for your kind comments regarding our accommodation , bar and kitchen - your compliments will be relayed to the rest of the team as we like uphold a high standard of service. We hope we are your hotel of choice if you are ever in Southampton again.Regards, Morwenna

Reviewer:Philip C | Thu 12th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Would recommend- Rating 5/5

Very helpfull staff. A good location.Nice clean accommodation.

Response

Hi Paul,Thank you for leaving us a review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I\'m glad our staff provided you with a warm welcome and our location served your needs whilst staying in Southampton. I will share your kind words with our team. We hope to see you again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:P | Mon 9th Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


overnight before sailing- Rating 4/5

we turned up and went into the bar it was quite quiet but the staff were pleasant. we were shown to our rooms which at first impressions were pleasant though small. we went back to the bar for some food which was really good and we then went to bed as we were up early. the car had to be placed in the municipal car park opposite but that wasn't a problem. the biggest down side is the rooms at the front get the noise from the traffic on the street below and there was someone with a very loud exhaust driving around til the wee small hours.a)value for money goodb)comfort very goodc)ants in the room - poorshower and bathroom - clean and goodoverall good would stay again if I was sailing from Southampton.

Response

Hi Brenda,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I\'m pleased to hear our staff provided you with a warm welcome and showed you to your room. I\'m glad that you enjoyed our menu selection and I will share your kind words on your dinner with our kitchen team! My apologies about the noise from the street, unfortunately having a hotel situated in a listed Victorian building does mean that noise travels easily throughout the premises. We are aware of this issue and we have exciting plans in place to minimise the noise impact on our hotel guests. I am sorry this disturbed your nights peace and I hope we can continue progressing with our plans to improve on this. My sincerest apologies about the ants in your room, we believe we have now found the source of this and are dealing with it appropriately. I hope we can continue to improve and grow to provide our guests with the experience we all expect.Kindest regards,Sian

Reviewer:Brenda M | Mon 2nd Sep 2019 | 8 months ago


Eccellente - Rating 5/5

Soggiorno perfetto e proprietari molto cordiali

Response

Ciao Stefania,Grazie per la tua opinione. Sono così felice di sapere che hai adorato il tuo soggiorno con noi! Sono contento che il nostro team sia stato in grado di offrirti un caloroso benvenuto e abbia avuto un impatto positivo sulla qualità del tuo soggiorno. Se ti ritrovi di nuovo a Southampton, speriamo di vederti!Cordiali saluti,Sian

Reviewer:STEFANIA C | Sat 31st Aug 2019 | 8 months ago


a night away - Rating 5/5

I decided only the day before to go to southampton and stay one night .Ifound the Flying Dutchman on line at a reasonable price so booked it .It was well worth it very clean and tidy ,and the nautical theme to the rooms with each named after a liner was novel .The large fan was a must in the very hot weather and was the best nights sleep i had had in the past week.Iwas a bit concerned about the road outside but never heard a thing.Avery good breakfast rounded off my stay ,i would recomend this and will use it myself again should the need arise .The staff were also very helpful and cheerful .Roger Goodrum.

Response

Hi Roger,Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your spontaneous stay with us! I will be sharing your kind words on the breakfast and the rooms with our team. I\'m glad the fan provided you with some relief in the last few days of summer and you were able to get a restful night with us. It\'s good to hear the breakfast is going down well too! We greatly appreciate your kind feedback and hope to see you again very soon!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:roger g | Fri 30th Aug 2019 | 8 months ago


flying Dutchman - Rating 5/5

We were met by a very knowledgeable happy young person who made us feel very welcome.Very friendly place, warm, clean and an excellent breakfast.The location for us was brilliant.

Response

Hi Alwyn, thank you so much for the kind review. I\'m glad that you felt welcomed during your stay - your kind comments regarding our hotel and the standard of service you were shown, I will be sharing these with the team. We do hope we have impressed you enough to have you come back and stay with us soon.Regards, Morwenna.

Reviewer:alwyn m | Wed 28th Aug 2019 | 8 months ago


Pride weekend - Rating 4/5

Great little place, location good, staff brilliant and helpful. All 3 rooms were a hit. A little bit hot but fans were provided and as it was 3o degrees outside there is only air con could remedy that. Wolud definately stay again.

Response

Hi Susan,Thank you for your review. I\'m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us over Pride weekend! Thank you very much for your kind words on our staff, I\'ll share these comments with my team. I\'m glad to hear the location served your needs and you could make the most of the weekends antics. I am sorry the rooms were a bit hot, being in a listed Victorian building does mean the heating efficiency isn\'t the best. Please be aware we are looking at some exciting changes that will greatly improve the temperature in each of our rooms.Once again Susan, thank you very much for your review and we hope to see you again soon!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:susan c | Wed 28th Aug 2019 | 8 months ago


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

It's the second time I've stayed at the FD, and both times have been great. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, and airy. Will be staying here again.

Response

HI Jon,Thank you so much for your review. I\'m glad that we have not only achieved A comforting stay for you once but twice. It\'s good to hear that the staff are maintaining a high standard of service and your kind words will be shared amongst the team. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again soon.Regards, Morwenna

Reviewer:jon b | Mon 19th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Flying Dutchman , Southampton - Rating 4/5

Really enjoyed my stay. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful.Look forward to staying there again when in the area.

Response

Hi John, thank you for the review, so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and you that you felt welcomed and well accommodated for. I will be sure to let the team know that they are well appreciated and are working to achieve the best possible standard of service. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again soon.Regards, Morwenna.

Reviewer:John R | Mon 12th Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Great staff and nice rooms - Rating 5/5

Bar and eating areas are nice, open and modern. Food is excellent and good valueAll the staff are very pleasant, helpful and nothing is any trouble for them the way they handle thingsBedroom was clean and well furnished with a modern feelThe only letdown is the stair carpet. Picky but it needs a refresh to bring it up to the standard of the rest of the placeCompletely recommended not only for the friendly staff but the rooms and food service

Response

Hi Mark,Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the use of our bar and dining facilities during your stay. I am so glad that our staff were able to make you feel warm and welcome in our little hotel. Thank you very much for your kind comments on the rooms, we have been working hard as a team to try and improve the guest rooms, so it\'s lovely to get such wonderful feedback! With regards to the carpet on the stairs, we are aware that this needs replacing. We are currently finalising our time frame for getting this work complete!I hope we see you again soon!Sian

Reviewer:Mark H | Thu 1st Aug 2019 | 9 months ago


Brilliant night- Rating 5/5

Thanks so much for a great night. I had s party and booked 3 rooms for Djs. They let us in as we lost key. We played music and the rooms were fab. We even got more alcohol and we would stay again.

Response

Hi Sarah,Thanks for leaving us a review. I am so pleased to hear how much you guys enjoyed your stay with us! Your lovely comments will be shared amongst our team. I hope we can continue to improve the service we provide and the experience our guests have with us! We look forward to seeing you guys again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Sarah T | Tue 30th Jul 2019 | 9 months ago


Short stay in Southampton - Rating 4/5

Very friendly, reorganised stay when we needed an extra night

Response

Hi Stuart,Thank you for your review. I\'m very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I\'m glad our staff were able to make you feel warm and welcome. We would love to see you again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Stuart F | Sat 27th Jul 2019 | 9 months ago


Lovely Hotel - Rating 5/5

Really big room and comfy bed , good on-suite, plenty of shower Gel &shampoos.What a wonderful Inn with great &Lagers &AlesThe food is exceptional, the Ribs are so meaty and the Burger really tasty and the chips are to die for! Really good price too.Breakfast was plenty, great choice, nice and hot, full English, toast, tea &juice, wonderful.

Response

Hi Trudi,Thank you for leaving us a review. I\'m so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind words on the room and our bar. Your kind comments on the food will be shared with our kitchen team. We hope we can continue to improve the service and experience we provide for our guests as we plan for some exciting changes in our hotel! We hope to see you again Trudi!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Trudi B | Fri 26th Jul 2019 | 9 months ago


My stay - Rating 5/5

Nice people very clean would stay here again. Everything was perfect

Response

Hi Frances,Thank you for your review. I\'m so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you very much for such kind words, these will be shared amongst our team. We very much hope to see you again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:FRANCES M | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


July 2019 - Rating 5/5

An excellent hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Nice room, comfortable bed, good en suite bathroom. Excellent breakfast.

Response

Hi Clive, thank you for your review! Your kind word regarding the staff and their services will be shared amongst the team as this is the standard we like to uphold here. I\'m glad you felt well accommodated for during your stay and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Morwenna

Reviewer:Clive H | Sat 20th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Friendly staff - Rating 4/5

Very friendly staff. Clean comfortable room. Breakfast was great.would look forward to staying again.

Response

Hi Robert.Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I\'m very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our team were able to make you feel welcome. Thank you for your kind words on the breakfast, I\'ll be passing your comments onto our kitchen team! We very much look forward to seeing you again, and I hope we can continue to improve!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Robert C | Sat 20th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Lovely room - Rating 5/5

We were quite surprised by the size of the room and especially bathroom, both are absolutely massive! Unfortunately there were some works and we were woken up pretty early. Breakfast was yummy too!

Response

Hi Kristina, thank you for your review. I\'m glad you were happy with the accommodation and your kind words regarding the kitchen will be shared with the chefs and this is the standard we like to provide. I apologise for your early awakening, however we\'ve been going through some refurbishments and we prefer to get these done as early as possible. We hope you come and stay with us again soon. Kind regards, Morwenna.

Reviewer:Kristina D | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Nice and clean- Rating 4/5

Upon entry both Charlotte and Jake the two staff were very polite and friendly, i was shown to my room and was impressed to gind how clean and tidy it was and the fact that a fan was on with the window slightly open to help combat the recent heat wave we are having.Charlotte is very knowledgable of the local area and the morning breakfast also lived upto my expectations.Woukd i stay again yes and the only reason tge 5th star isnt filled in below is because the place doesnt have its own onsite parking so you have a pay and display opposite or you can risk outside which is free from 8pm to 8am. All in all comfortable, clean, great staff, good food and a well decorated pub.

Response

Hi Roger, thank you for your review, your kind words regarding the staff will be appreciated and shared with them as this is the standard of service we like to uphold. I\'m glad you felt accommodated for during this recent change of weather that we\'ve had. I understand the difficulty with the parking situation however due to our location we are surrounded by private properties which is why we have not ourselves got allocated parking. I do hope you come and stay with us again soon. Kind regards Morwenna.

Reviewer:Roger W | Thu 18th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Lovely- Rating 4/5

Staff were very friendly and is a cute and cosy place to say

Response

Hi Shaweta, thank you so much for your review, your kind words are deeply appreciated from all the staff here. I\'m glad you were happy with our accommodation and we hope to see you agin very soon. Kind regards, Morwenna.

Reviewer:Shaweta R | Thu 18th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Leuk hotel - Rating 4/5

Leuk hotel, prijs/kwaliteit in acht genomen. Ontbijt lekker, vriendelijk personeel. In de kamer was het wel heel warm, geen airco wel ventilator.

Response

Hi Melis,Thank you for your review. Thank you for your kind words on our hotel and staff, this will be shared with our team! Unfortunately the rooms are not currently equipped with air conditioning, this is something we are looking into for our future changes. All rooms are equipped with fans in order to help with the warm weather we are experiencing at the moment. I hope we can continue to improve the service we provide to our guests.Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:M | Wed 17th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


good value. pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

lovely clean room pleasantly decorated. good shower, linen and towels. very good breakfast. friendly staff. excellent value.

Reviewer:tracey r | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Highly recommend - Rating 4/5

Perfect location, friendly staff and comfy rooms. Definitely worth the money!

Response

Hi Andrea, thank you so much for your review. I\'m glad we were able to make your stay comfortable and your kind words regarding our staff will be shared with them as we this is the standard of service we like to uphold. Please do come and stay with us soon!Kind Regards Morwenna

Reviewer:Andrea I | Fri 12th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Nice Hotel for a short stay - Rating 4/5

The check-in/check-out was quick and easy, friendly staff (at the time of check-in &for breakfast), good breakfast especially the full English. The bed was comfy. Clean sheets and towel. Free toiletries provided. The room had tea/coffee &kettle with a glass bottle of water and a glass. There was a small desk fan. The room had a t.v. The only issue was the noise of traffic outside as the main road was next to the room. Clean toilet. Would visit again.

Response

Hi Trevor,Thank you for your review. I\'m pleased to hear you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast and our staff were able to provide you with fab service. Thank you for your kind words on the bedroom, we have been working really hard to improve the guest rooms, so it\'s lovely to hear the hard work is paying off! I am sorry about the noise from the street, in future we will try and secure you a quieter room. We have also now stocked up on ear plugs too!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Trevor C | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

This was a perfect place for a stay before we took the ferry over to isle of white. It was a few mins drive from the ferry port and we were allowed for our dog to stay in the room with us. The room was lovely and clean and got a free breakfast in the morning. The bar was quiet downstairs so there was no nice. Definitely worth a stay if you want cheap clean and near the port. Thankyou

Response

Hi Laura, I\'m so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I\'m happy you felt our accommodation made your stay comfortable and we would love to have you come back andstay with us again very soon.Kind Regards, Morwenna

Reviewer:Laura J | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Pre-cruise stay - Rating 5/5

Ideally situated for the Cruise Terminus. Plenty of eating places nearby. Room clean and tidy, bed was comfortable and tea/coffee available. Good breakfast on offer. Live music in the pub but did not disturb us in the bedroomWould consider returning in the future.

Response

Hi Kathleen,Thank you for your review. I\'m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I\'m very glad the location suited your needs whilst in Southampton. Thank you for your kind comments on the room and the breakfast, these will be shared with our team. I hope we do see you again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Kathleen p | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Break - Rating 4/5

Very nice ,friendly helpful staff

Response

Hi Kathleen,Thank you for leaving us a review. I\'m very pleased to hear you enjoyed your break in Southampton with us! Your kind words will be shared with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope we will see you again sometime!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Kathleen B | Tue 2nd Jul 2019 | 10 months ago


Great Place - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay. The staff are very helpful and attentive, definitely wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.

Response

Hi Kieran,Thank you for your review. I\\\'m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, your kind words about the staff will be passed on to our team! We hope to see you again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Kieran B | Sun 30th Jun 2019 | 10 months ago


Lovely accomadation - Rating 4/5

Lovely room and en-suite, bar staff were very nice and dinner was ok. Breakfast the next morning was late and very poor. Don't think the chef knows what French toast is meant to be.

Response

Hi Philip, thank you very much for your review and for your kind words about our bar staff and accommodation. Apologies about your breakfast, we will take this on board and use it to improve our services. Hopefully, we will see you again soon! Regards, Morwenna

Reviewer:Philip L | Fri 28th Jun 2019 | 10 months ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Wonderful staff best breakfast ever, room was lovely bed very comfortable. I have stayed in many hotels this is probably my favourite. Kev breakfast was delicious Yasmin kept me company until husband arrived and Sara I know I have your name wrong but thank you for being so happy in the morning 100 % the best stay ever. Also first time I have reviewed a hotel with good reason ! You deserve it .

Response

Hi Mandy, Thank you so much for your kind review. Your compliments about our staff will be shared with the team. I\'m glad the accommodation allowed you to be well rested and comfortable! I do hope that we get to see you soon and hopefully we can make your stay even better than the last! Regards Morwenna

Reviewer:Mandy W | Wed 26th Jun 2019 | 10 months ago


Lovely staff- Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our night stay nice food ,Shaune was lovely and very attentive ,nice king size bed with bath and shower

Response

Hi Richard,Thank you for your kind review, I\'m glad you were happy with our services and accommodation. Your kind words will be shared with our team and we hope to see you again very soon!Regards, Morwenna

Reviewer:Richard A | Wed 26th Jun 2019 | 10 months ago


stag do - Rating 5/5

Very friendly staff, lovely rooms . when there was an issue with the shower, they called me and did not charge me for the room.Lovely breakfast, but could be alittle quicker. i would use this hotel again, Great service.

Reviewer:geoff g | Tue 25th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Great car was taken to ensure I enjoyed my stay - Rating 5/5

I arrived after a long drive and was checked in immediately by a friendly member of staff. My room plus breakfast was excellent, plenty of menu choices, hot tasty food in the morning.lovely stay, thank you x

Response

Hi Tessa,Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Your kind comments on the breakfast and menu will be shared with our kitchen team. I hope we can continue to make further improvements to our hotel. We would love to have you again, should you find yourself in Southampton!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Tessa D | Tue 18th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


A gem for a value price in Southampton - Rating 5/5

Nice hotel with a nice pub downstairs. Very quiet and close to Oxford Street and city center. Very convenient either for business or leisure. Rooms nice an clean and fantastic staff. Very good breakfast too. Will repeat for sure

Response

Hi Jesus,Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I\'m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and our location served your needs. Thank you for your kind comments on the rooms and our staff, I will be sharing this with them! I\'m also very happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast, I will pass this on to our kitchen team! We hope to see you again Jesus!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Jesus Lopez A | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Lovely- Rating 5/5

Only niggle was that my room window would not close. Room 7. And it faces into the main road. No other complaints

Response

Hi Pauline,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I\'m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Flying Dutchman! My apologies for the window not closing, we are having our maintenance team look into this straight away to avoid such an issue in the future. We would love to see you again if you ever find yourself in Southampton!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Pauline B | Fri 14th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Outstanding - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed my stay here - I was travelling on work and the friendliness of the staff and the comfort of the room made this feel like a home away from home.Would gladly have stayed over for a few days more.My thanks to Sian &Danny at the front desk for their warmth and friendship (and taxi bookings!) Loved the relaxed atmosphere of the pub and the screens showing sport as well as the hearty food off your menu. Apart from other things, chips of a quality I will never forget!The Flying Dutchman to me represented Southampton at its best.

Response

Hi Sharda,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I\'m so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I\'m glad we were able to make you feel welcome in Southampton! On behalf of myself and Danny, thank you very much for your kind words on our service, we loved having you as our guest! The kitchen have asked me to pass on their thanks for your kind comments on the food too! I hope you had a safe journey home, and if you ever find yourself in Southampton again, we would love to have you!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Sharda U | Fri 14th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Great place! - Rating 5/5

This is a really nice hotel with very efficient and friendly staff. I spent two nights here and will stay here again in the future. Warning! Watch out for the food - the portions are massive! Great breakfast as well.

Response

Hi Alastair,Thank you very much for your kind review! I\'m so pleased our team were able to provide you with what you needed for your stay. Your kind comments on the food has been passed onto our kitchen team and on behalf of them, thank you very much! We hope to see you again very soon.Sian

Reviewer:Alastair B | Tue 11th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Fantastic hotel- Rating 5/5

This was my third time I booked this hotel for my daughter. She loved the amazing breakfast .

Response

Hi Jade,Thank you so much for your kind review! I\\\'m so pleased your daughter is comfortable here and is being well-fed!!!Sian

Reviewer:jade e | Sat 8th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Nice little find - Rating 4/5

Clean and comfortable. Lovely friendly staff.

Response

Hi Debra,Thank you for your kind review! I\'m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind review will be shared amongst our team!Sian

Reviewer:Debra O | Sat 8th Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


A nice Overnight stay. - Rating 4/5

We stayed for 1 night, as we were attending an event at St Nary's Stadium. This was only a 10 minute walk , so it's an ideal location.The room we stayed in was small, but wasnice, &the bed was very comfortable.We were at the front, by a busy main road, so there was quute a bit of traffic noise, but that didn't really bother us.The complimenrary breakfast was good too.Overall we had a really nice stay.

Response

Hi Annette,Thanks for your review. I\'m glad the location of the hotel met your needs for your evening away. Thank you for your kind words on the staff and the rooms, these comments will be passed onto our team. I\'m very glad you enjoyed your breakfast the next day too! I apologise about the noise from the street, if you stay with us again please do not hesitate to contact the hotel beforehand and we will see if we can arrange a quieter room for you.Sian

Reviewer:Annette E | Sun 2nd Jun 2019 | 11 months ago


Good value for money - Rating 5/5

I am happy to say that my stay at The Flying Dutchman was pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was very friendly and helpful, which is very important for me. If there is one downside of it, it was that my room was facing the street and it was quite noisy. Overall I find that the accommodation and the included breakfast were at a great value for my money and I would stay there again if I found myself in Southampton.

Response

Hi Monika,Thanks for your review. I\'m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Flying Dutchman. Thank you for your kind words on the staff and the rooms! I apologise about the noise from the street, if you decide to stay with us again, contact us directly and we will see if we can arrange a room at the back of the hotel for you!Sian

Reviewer:Monika G | Fri 31st May 2019 | 11 months ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

Hotel was very clean and welcoming. Room wSgood size and very clean. Only snag was the TV wasnt working. Husbank doesnt sleep well and likes to watch tv in middle of the night. Will stay again if we come to a concert at st marys stadium

Response

Hi Sue,Thanks for your review. Thank you for your kind words on the hotel and the bedrooms. I do apologise about the television not working, please be assured we have now had professionals out in order to rectify this issue. I hope we see you again!Sian

Reviewer:Sue H | Tue 28th May 2019 | 11 months ago


great place to stay - Rating 4/5

hotel was very comfortable and clean. staff were all very friendly and efficient. the location is perfect, and we had a room at the back so it was very quiet. we would definitely stay there again and would recommend it highly.

Response

Hi Marion,Thanks for your review. I\'m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you kind words will be shared with the staff.I hope we see you again!Sian

Reviewer:marion c | Mon 27th May 2019 | 11 months ago


A good all round experience - Rating 4/5

The room was excellent, the full breakfast was exceptional, and staff varied from pleasant to delightful. They welcomed my visitors too.The bar menu is limited, but is extremely well cooked.My only disappointment was that one of the reasons I chose here,( rather than a conventional hotel) was that the pictures, showed hand pulled ale, and there wasn't any, so had to go elsewhere.That's why I drop a star below.I will probably stay here again, next time I visit family "down south"

Response

Hi Robert,Thank you for your review. I\'m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Flying Dutchman! I do apologise about the lack of pulled ale, it is typical that this weekend we had run out! We hope this doesn\'t happen again and the next time you visit you can have a nice pint of ale! Thank you again Robert!Sian

Reviewer:Robert B | Sun 26th May 2019 | 12 months ago


A good low budget option - Rating 5/5

A very neat and comfortable room. With own toilet facilities.Breakfast was great.

Response

Hi Anthony,Thank you for your review! I\'m so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words will be shared with the staff and we hope we can keep making further improvements!Sian

Reviewer:Anthony M | Thu 23rd May 2019 | 12 months ago


Great deal great find and great staff!!!!! - Rating 5/5

I required a hotel in Southampton to be ready for a 5 night cruise on QM2. The hotel was in an excellent location with close proximity to the town centre, the cruise port, a number of restaurants and the hip and trendy Marina. Our room was at the top of the building and we did struggle to negotiate the stairs with heavy cases but the room was tidy clean with a nice comfortable bed, lovely sheets, good bathroom with hot shower and tea and coffee with biscuits. The tv was slightly smaller than i would have liked but in honesty after the night out in the town I fell to sleep quite quickly.Breakfast was very good, a very tasty cooked breakfast with two of everything plus cerial, toast, french toast and any type of coffee or tea and as much as you liked. There was also pastries, fruit, juices and a number of other choices on the menu. The staff from booking to sourcing car parking was excellent. I was particularly impressed with Sian an irish lady who was very pleasant and efficient and Jo who sorted us out with the initial booking. All in all I was very impressed and would take our full compliment of dancers there on our next cruise.

Response

Hi Neil,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I\'m so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We are so lucky to be located so close to the city centre but also to the cruise ports! I understand it is a struggle with the heavy luggage, I hope staff aided you in moving your luggage about. Thank you for your kind words on the bedroom, all feedback is greatly appreciated, especially as we have been redecorating the guest rooms. I\'m so glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us, I hope it set you up for your travels!Thank you so much for your kind words on myself and Jo, I will make sure to pass on your comments to Jo! We would love to have you guys again and I hope you have a fantastic cruise!Thank you once again Neil.Kindest regards,Sian

Reviewer:Neil S | Mon 20th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Cost v quality - The Best Room I’ve Ever stayed In - Rating 5/5

Booked to double rooms, one superior double &1 standard double for my daughter..The bar area was slightly drab so wasn’t expecting too much, but on visiting the rooms was massively impressed.. Only payed just over £50 fo my room &just under that for my daughters, &have to be honest, I’ve payed well over double before for a so called boutique hotel in Portsmouth &got a whole lot less!Here’s a few things that impressed m in order:Huge RoomHuge Queen Size BedJacuzzi BathHuge Bathroom very nicely decoratedVery clean RoomNice plush carpetHeavy plush curtainsSmall things that went against itMaybe more staff at reception/bar/waitress, one person was trying to do it allBit noisy from main roadToilet seat wouldn’t stay upLoose tiles on bathroom floor (easily fixed with flexible silicone sealant)Overall though 9/10 &definitely would recommend &go back to!

Response

Hi Jon,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind comments on the rooms, we have been working very hard over the last couple of months to improve the quality of the rooms, so any positive feedback is greatly appreciated!The issues you have raised are being addressed. We are currently in the process of training new staff to improve on the efficiency of our service. The bathroom is being looked at by maintenance (although a small issue, we want to make sure it is done properly). We are also looking to improve the look of our downstairs bar, to hopefully match the standards of the rooms!Thank you once again for your kind review, your comments will be passed onto the team as we work to make further improvements!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Jon E | Fri 17th May 2019 | 1 year ago


A good hotel- Rating 4/5

The hotel was nice and clean, and the room was neatly decorated and came with little touches like biscuits and hot chocolate. Staff were welcoming and friendly, and a breakfast was included in the price, so overall good value for money. Check out is 10.30 so set your alarm!

Response

Hi Greg,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I\'m so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We have been working hard over the past couple of months to improve our hotel rooms and the service we provide - it\'s lovely to hear the hard work is paying off! Your kind words will be passed onto the team. We hope we will see you again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Greg T | Wed 15th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Convenient and comfortable- Rating 4/5

Great welcome, small but comfortable room in the heart of the trendy Oxford Street area of Southampton.Excellent breakfast with nice, caring staff

Response

Hi Roger,Thank you for your kind review! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to provide you with what you needed! Your kind words will be passed onto the staff and kitchen! We hope to see you again in the future!Kind regards.Sian

Reviewer:Roger T | Mon 13th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Amazing- Rating 5/5

Thank you so much for looking after my daughter Jade she said it was really nice . She loved the biscuits left in her room. She said breakfast was really nice .

Response

Hi Lorraine,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for choosing our hotel for your daughter. I\'m so pleased to hear she enjoyed her stay and was well looked after. We hope to see you again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Lorraine E | Sat 11th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Heerlijk hotel - Rating 5/5

Mooie schone kamer. Goed bed. Goed ontbijt. Parkeerplaats t.o het hotel.

Response

Hi Nicoline,Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments, we have been working hard to improve the comfort of the rooms so it\\\'s lovely to hear the improvements are paying off!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Nicoline van Z | Fri 10th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, fantastic breakfast, great price. I will definitely come back here next time I’m in Southampton!

Response

Hi Matthias,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for choosing to stay with us! I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Flying Dutchman! We very much look forward to seeing you again soon!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Matthias H | Wed 8th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Tick vg - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly good value.

Response

Hi Roger,Thank you for leaving a review and for choosing to stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We\'re constantly working to improve our service and meet our guest\'s needs, so it\'s lovely to hear that the hard work is paying off! If you\'re ever in Southampton again, we would love to have you stay with us!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Roger A | Wed 8th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Nice - Rating 4/5

Charming and warmfull wellcome .The girl who wellcome us on our arriving was very nice and helpfully. She gave us good information for our stay.Breakfast is good.Rooms are clean , good space.The toilet système is noisy.

Response

Hi Aude,Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for choosing to stay with us. It\'s lovely to hear the staff were helpful and able to provide you with what you needed! Your kind comments will be passed onto the kitchen and housekeeping department, also. I apologise for the noise, we are looking into ways to improve our plumbing system to minimise this.Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Aude R | Wed 8th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Great stay! - Rating 4/5

Rooms were clean and bed was very comfortable. Had a great tasty meal in the evening with 30% off. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious!

Response

Hi Donna,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for choosing to stay with us! It\'s wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for you kind comments, and if you\'re ever back in Southampton, we hope to see you again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:DONNA R | Tue 7th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Convenient hotel for Southampton half marathon- Rating 4/5

I choose this hotel based on price &location for the Southampton half marathon. My room was perfect for what I needed, staff very friendly, decent food, only gripe would be the drag act that performed on Sunday night, in trying to get people involved, was berating customers &people checking in

Response

Hi Neil,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for choosing to stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything you needed was available for you. It\'s lovely to hear how friendly the staff were and your comments will be passed on to them! Your comments on the drag act will be taken into consideration for future events. Thank you for raising this concern.We would love to see you again sometime.Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Neil O | Tue 7th May 2019 | 1 year ago


Flying Dutchman, Southampton - Rating 4/5

great, relaxed place, nice staff. price very very good. Would use again.

Response

Hi Susan,Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that staff were polite and helpful. It\\\\\\\'s so lovely to know that the improvements we are making are making a difference to the quality of people\\\'s stay. We would love to see you again sometime!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:susan m | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Luxurious stay - Rating 5/5

We were blown away by the gorgeous decor, Hugh comfortable queen size bed and then we opened the bathroom door and Wow! A massive jacuzzi and walk in shower,lots of toiletries. Friendly staff,had a great stay.

Response

Hi Victoria,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for choosing to stay with us. It really is so lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We have been working really hard to make many improvements to the hotel, so we really appreciate any kind feedback we get. We would love to have you stay with us again Victoria!Kindest regards,Sian

Reviewer:Victoria E | Sun 28th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Good value. Friendly staff brilliant location

Response

Hi Darren,Thank you so much for writing a review and for choosing to stay with us. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Flying Dutchman! Your kind words will be passed onto the staff.Thank you again Darren, we would love to see you again sometime!Regards,Sian

Reviewer:Darren O | Sun 28th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Pleasant stay at the Flying Dutchman - Rating 5/5

Stayed for Easter weekend,good venue in terms of 10 mins from Southampton High St and 5 mins from area around Southampton docks.Lovely helpful staff, great breakfast on both days we were there.Smallish room with no cupboard for clothing, but the price with breakfast included means we could survive without the cupboard. :)

Response

Hi Ian,Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Flying Dutchman. I\'m very pleased to hear that staff were helpful and made your stay much more enjoyable. We would love to see you again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Ian Chisholm B | Wed 24th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for one night at very short notice. The staff are great and the 'cabins' are fantastic. All facilities you would expect and more. First class breakfast included in the deal. Result!I'm going there again!

Response

Hi Simon,Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! It\'s so lovely to hear you will be visiting again. Thank you again Simon, we look forward to seeing you!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Simon B | Wed 24th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Easter Weekend Saturday - Rating 5/5

I had a really enjoyable stay,friendly staff greeted me on arrival and helpful behind the bar (sorry didn’t catch her name,ginger hair,great smile). Food was really good,bed comfy and breakfast ideal the next morning. Will definitely recommend to others if visiting Southampton.

Response

Hi Duncan,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for choosing to stay with us at Flying Dutchman! I\'m so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! It\'s wonderful to hear that staff are making such a great impression on the guests. We would love to have you back again next time you are in Southampton for the weekend.Thank you once again Duncan!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Duncan L | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


lovely place and staff- Rating 4/5

really enjoyable stay. only problem was not being able to turn off the bathroom radiator. so it was very very hot 😕. very nice room and food thank you for having me 😊

Response

Hi David,Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us. I\'m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and staff were helpful. I apologise about the radiator incident in the room, this will be looked into ASAP. Thank you once again David, we would love to have you stay with us again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:david p | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


FUN PLACE - Rating 5/5

Price / quality was definitely oke. Great people, good food, sufficient drinks and great location. We'll be back one day! Thanks for an unforgettable weekend. Cheers, Oscar

Response

Hi Oscar,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It\'s wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Keep an eye on our social media to watch out for improvements taking place across the hotel. We would love to see you again sometime!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Oscar M | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


My stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night, as I was visiting my daughter.Couldn’t fault the accommodation, room was very clean and modern. Breakfast was great, and a good choice. Very helpful and friendly staff. Overall, great place to stay

Response

Hi Jon,Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It\'s lovely to hear that the staff training and small changes are making a big difference in a guests overall stay. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, it would be lovely to have you back sometime!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Jon B | Sun 14th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


football away day - Rating 5/5

Really impressive staff and food was excellent also, very much enjoyed the stay, thank you.

Response

Hi Mark,Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Match days are very busy for us so I\'m happy to hear that standards were kept even with the stress of a football day. We would love to see you again sometime!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:MARK T | Sun 7th Apr 2019 | 1 year ago


Lovely stay.- Rating 5/5

Myself and my husband stayed at the flying dutchman hotel in Southampton on the 25/26th of March. The whole stay was great from the room hotel bars staff and very much the cooked English breakfast included in the price. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

Response

Hi Jean,Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We very much loved having you and would love to see you again some time!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Jean G | Wed 27th Mar 2019 | 1 year ago


Lovely one night stay - Rating 5/5

Was traveling on business during the week and stayed one night. Very comfy large bed. Nice room. Friendly staff. The cooked breakfast was good too.

Response

Hi Jonathan,Thank you very much for your kind feedback, we\'re really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon.Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Jonathan B | Thu 28th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Great room and hospitality - Rating 4/5

I opted for the extra large double and I am not kidding that you could sleep a family of four in this bed! The food was good and the staff were warm and friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay again.

Response

Thank you very much for your kind review Peter, we\'re glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Flying Dutchman. We hope to see you again soon.Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Peter H | Wed 27th Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Never a bad stay - Rating 5/5

Staff are always very welcoming and the rooms are spotlessly clean. The food is good and so is the location. This hotel is great value for money and I'd high;y recommend it.

Response

Thank you very much for the kind words Paul - we hope to see you again soon.Regards,Sian.

Reviewer:Paul B | Thu 21st Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Brilliant place and breakfast - Rating 5/5

New clean and top drawer customer service.

Response

Thank you for your feedback David, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay at The Flying Dutchman. Hope to see you again.Regards,Sian

Reviewer:david m | Thu 21st Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Excellent friendly comfortable hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent value for money, comfortable and friendly atmosphere, breakfast is amazing, close to all the bars and restaurants. There is only 1 place I would stop in Southampton and that’s the Flying Dutchman. 5 stars from me thanks

Response

Hi Stephen. all of us here at The Flying Dutchman really appreciate your kind words and are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.Regards,Sian.

Reviewer:stephen b | Sun 3rd Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Happy customer- Rating 5/5

A very good room staff very helpful and breakfast brilliant very thing very clean

Response

Hi Kevin,Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We\'re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.Regards,Sian

Reviewer:Kevin B | Fri 1st Feb 2019 | 1 year ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

My wife &I stayed midweek for a couple of nights. Great location, great price. Full English breakfast was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms lovely, clean and warm with all facilities working correctly. We would definitely stay at the Flying Dutchman again.

Response

Hi Martin,Thank you so much for your review and i am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.We very much look forward to you staying with us again and hope you will enjoy even more with the improvements we planning.Kindest RegardsJo

Reviewer:M | Fri 18th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Almost perfect - Rating 3/5

Hello,Lovely and friendly place. Except my experience qt breakfast. The coffee had the color of a tea and tasted awful. And after waiting 20 minutes for two toasts which never were served, I left without having my breakfast. The waiter just said he was sorry to hear that I had to leave without eating because it was taking too long. Quite disappointing.Regards.

Response

Hi Corinne,How dissapointing that we let you down right at the end. i am sincerely sorry for this.Please be assured i will take this up with the staff member in question.I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and if you are in the area again please contact me directly as i would love to offer you a small token as a way of an apology.Kindest regardsJo

Reviewer:Corinne T | Wed 16th Jan 2019 | 1 year ago


Friendly personal - Rating 3/5

The personal is very friendly and helpful. Thank you for the nice stay.

Response

Thank you for your review Bjorn i am very glad you enjoyed your stayregardsJo

Reviewer:Bjorn T | Fri 21st Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Basic comfortable room.Had a bit of a problem with the shower ( door fell off) but managed to deal with it.Only issue was parking.£5 to park overnight on the street.But o the plus side, sky sports in the bar - great

Response

Hi Ian,Thank you for the review, the showers are certainly something we are looking into.Im glad you enjoyed the bar and the sky sports and i hope we see you againRegardsJo

Reviewer:Ian P | Thu 13th Dec 2018 | 1 year ago


Great value, great breakfast - Rating 5/5

The title says it all. A quality full English breakfast is included and the room is cosy and clean. Bathrooms in the single rooms could do with a smaller sink though - not a great choice given the size.

Response

Hi Paul,Thank you for your review, i am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.i appreciate your constructive criticism and we will certainly look into itRegardsJo

Reviewer:Mr Paul B | Thu 22nd Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Pleasant stay- Rating 4/5

Overall a pleasant stay and would book again.However, have two things that could be improved on. Had to queue at the busy bar to find out where the reception was as there were no signs indicating where to go and what to do. Apparently you have to check in at the bar. Not ideal especially when the place is full with football crowds and have to wait over 10 min just to get close to the bar.The room was on central heating system and did not have seperate heaters in the room. There were no extra blankets either. I found the room chilly during the day and i was cold at night.

Response

Hi Lina,We\'re happy to hear that your overall experience with us was adequate, however there is always room for improvement. Thank you very much for bringing these issues to our attention, we are working as a team to improve the hotel and your comments have been taken on board and the necessary action has been taken.I would also like to apologise for the delay in our response.Regards,Sian.

Reviewer:Lina S | Wed 31st Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


return visit - Rating 5/5

everything great thank you

Reviewer:KAREN P | Wed 26th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Room- Rating 5/5

Very clean room with tv free viewAnd on suit with tea and coffeeStaff very helpful and pleasantSome one there if you want helpOr information

Reviewer:Mark S | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


2 night stay - Rating 4/5

A really comfortable stay in lovely accommodation and super friendly staff.

Reviewer:Tony L | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Room was brilliant lots of space nice and cleanStaff were very friendlyBreakfast was lovelyWould definitely stay again for the price it was brilliant

Reviewer:Britney W | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Mon avis - Rating 5/5

Personnelles dévouées, gentilles. On pense revenir la prochaine fois.

Reviewer:Sabrina Marie J | Tue 18th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Mon avis - Rating 5/5

Personnelles dévouées, gentilles. On pense revenir la prochaine fois.

Reviewer:Sabrina Marie J | Tue 18th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


We liked it - would book again - Rating 4/5

We stayed at the Flying Dutchman only one night. We stayed in Room No. 2 which is a large Room with twin beds. Everything was clean and comfortable. We can't say anything about the breakfast because we left very early to catch ferry at Dover. We would book again.

Reviewer:Edda K | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

I needed somewhere to stay so I didn't have to drive after my Hen Do. I got a very reasonable single room. I was over the moon it had a hairdryer! It was at the front of the building so potentially noisy with traffic but in my circumstances that didn't matter ;) I didn't have the buffet breakfast as I met friends for brunch. I'd definitely consider staying there again.

Reviewer:Ruth K | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Adukt family stayimg for wedding - Rating 4/5

Thank you for looking after us all so well.The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. Everything was clean and nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewer:Ray H | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


our stay - Rating 4/5

Nice size bedroom,clean and nicely laid out staff very friendly and accomdating

Reviewer:Carole J | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfortable and friendly hotel - Rating 4/5

We were travelling as a family and found the rooms very comfortable.Charlie was helpful with the parking situation and he and his staff were friendly and welcoming.The hotel is well situated as there are many good restaurants etc nearby.It is also close to the old town if you are interested in history ( as I am) Many thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Paul B | Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Staff made us really welcome,very helpful,nice room,would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Sarah S | Sat 16th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Atmosphere - Rating 5/5

This place is a real hidden gem. Nice clean and comfortable rooms, with everything you need.The bar is fantastic, really welcoming and friendly people that make you feel at home and comfortable.I'll definitely be staying again next time I'm in the area.

Reviewer:Chris E | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Jennifer Yates & son staying for on night en route to cruise ship. - Rating 5/5

Brief stay but enjoyable. Staff good. A chair in the room would have been useful. Would return again if in S’ton .

Reviewer:Jennifer Y | Sun 27th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Brilliant stay on Wednesday 2nd May 2018, I cannot fault anything. Service was excellent, rooms were superb,just been refurbed, very clean and tidy, bar staff very efficient. The following morning I opted for a cooked breakfast, which was cooked from fresh, and tasted fantastic. I will definitely be going back to the Flying Dutchman

Reviewer:Rod M | Fri 4th May 2018 | 2 years ago


Supportive, patient and kind staff - Rating 5/5

The owner and staff were lovely and incredibly kind, patient and supportive when dealing with my difficult and mentally unwell daughter. Exceptional kindness.

Reviewer:Holly H | Fri 16th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


Great place- Rating 5/5

Really happy with choosing the Flying Dutchman, the rooms are clean and modern with en suites, great value considering breakfast included. Good central location. The pub is really good to. The icing on the cake are the bar staff and landlord. Sophie and Steph were awesome and helped us out with where to go in the evening and also Brian spent a lot of time talking to us. I would definitely come back here again and probably will do. Great job guys you have a cracking little set up there :-)

Reviewer:Mark L | Mon 5th Mar 2018 | 2 years ago


Flying Dutchman - visit - Rating 5/5

Staff were very friendly, The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. Southampton parking is rubbish but there is a chargeable Car Park opposite which always had spaces. For southampton beer was cheap too.

Reviewer:Madeline R | Sat 24th Feb 2018 | 2 years ago


Pre-cruise stay - Rating 5/5

I have stayed in chain hotels during my travels but Flying Dutchman moved right to the top of my hotel list, with the most comfortable bed ever, and the most helpful staff who helped me all the way, modern spotless bedrooms, just perfect... thank you.Rachel Thomas

Reviewer:Rachel T | Sun 10th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


Great value - Rating 4/5

Staff were friendly and helpful. Room clean and bed very comfortable. I had a single room that was a little bit of a squeeze but adequate for my needs. Only thing to moan about was the noise from road traffic all through the night. I think I was just unlucky to have a room right at the front of the building overlooking the traffic junction and it probably wouldn't have been an issue with the other rooms.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback and a great review.

Reviewer:Mr e | Fri 8th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay for work - Rating 5/5

Great value for money, friendly chatty and smiling staff and a cracking cooked breakfast.

Response

Thank you so much for the great review.

Reviewer:Robert P | Thu 7th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


Big bed! - Rating 5/5

We opted for a room with a super king bed and slept well. As the owners point out the location can be noisy but we were on second floor and I took earplugs and slept well. Free simple breakfast or pay a modest price for a cooked breakfast. Friendly owner chatted and I appreciated that he popped out to get me a non dairy alternative for milk. Whole place was clean and we had a good stay. We’d go again :)

Response

Thank you for the lovely comments and great review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Charlotte N | Sun 3rd Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent value for money. - Rating 5/5

I can't fault the Flying Dutchman. Friendly, clean and ideally situated.

Response

Thank you so much for staying with us and hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Sean P | Fri 1st Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Most noticeable was the very helpful and friendly staff. Room was comfortable and enjoyed the cooked breakfast. Location was perfect but parking was a bit of a problem. Would recommend and have left a positive review on booking.com Thanks to all for making it a pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Richard H | Sun 26th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


Good experience- Rating 4/5

Excellent staff. Good experience. I recommend this hotel

Response

Thank you for the great review.

Reviewer:C | Wed 8th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


No complaints - Rating 4/5

Clean, comfortable and friendly 👍

Response

Thank you so much for the great review.

Reviewer:Anthony F | Sat 4th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


One night stay - Rating 4/5

Room was good clean and tidy, ensuite was on the small side but adequate for one night. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would use hotel again.

Response

Thank you for the great feedback we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Christine Y | Fri 13th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Location, Location, Location - Rating 5/5

Great little pub right in the center of southampton. Perfect for a night out, walking distance from bars and restaurants. Rooms a good size and had a massive bed! breakfast is included and good choice too.Would definately stay here again.

Response

Thank you so much for the great review and kind comments. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewer:Alan T | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Comfortable and clean - Rating 4/5

Although the single room was small, it was comfortable and clean.The continental breakfast was good and is served up to noon which is a very welcome change from the normal 9.30-10.00am deadline!

Response

Your feedback and comments are very much appreciated so thank you for taking the time to leave a great review.Kind regards

Reviewer:ElaineG | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


good stay and value fir money - Rating 5/5

Did exactly what it said on the tinGreat value for money. Clean, functional,Excellently located and very helpful reception. Wouldnt hesitatr to stay there again

Response

Thank you so much for the great review and comments. We have tried to advertise the Hotel and bar as it is and altho our services are limited we want them to be the best they can be. Hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards

Reviewer:Max A | Fri 4th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Nice rooms and friendly staff- Rating 4/5

Nice and easy to book in, I was shown up to my room which is rare these days. Comfortable room, decent shower and generally very clean. Staff were very helpful. If I had one gripe it would be that the breakfast was served a little late (8am) but I will stay again when in the area

Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. The issue you have highlighted is being looked at and we are hoping with the refurbishment work that you could see was currently taking place, the hotel can provide more facilities such as cooked breakfast at an earlier time. We hope that if you return to the Hotel at a later date you will be happier with our services and can see an improvement.

Reviewer:Lee D | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


A very comfortable stay in a pleasant environment- Rating 4/5

The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and keen to do anything to make our stay comfortable. Breakfast was a bonus we hadn't expected and was a nice surprise. We had requested a quiet room and that request was fulfilled. Everyone there is working hard to make things as good as they can be.

Response

Thank you so much for the great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us comments.

Reviewer:Joan M | Wed 12th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


well located - Rating 3/5

from the dutchman, so easy to get anywhere in southampton - clean/neat room (though very small) and bathroom - in spite of street noise, very quiet by 11PM or so and slept well in a comfortable bed -

Response

Thank you for your kind feedback. We\'re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future, should you choose our hotel again! Kindest regards from all the team at the Flying Dutchman!

Reviewer:Kathleen E | Sun 18th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Goodplace to stay for St mary\'s stadium- Rating 5/5

Very nice stay for Robbieconcert.Short walk to stadium and Oxford Street. Lovely breakfast good selection to choose from,friendly staff clean room I recommend this hotel.

Response

We really appreciate the great feedback and review. Hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. STEFAN N | Thu 8th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Stay at the flying dutchman - Rating 4/5

Comfortable roomFriend and helpful staffClean environmentpleasant stay

Response

Thank you very much for the review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Cedric C | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Work in progress - Rating 3/5

Overall mixed. Low cost option, clean and friendly but wasn't really suitable for my needs for this trip. However, under new management and lots in progress and plannned - feels as though it's worth a revisit when all is done. New owners here are lovely - friendly, helpful and efficient. The location is also great - 10 mins walk from Ocean Cruise Terminal and 15 mins from West Quay through the old part of the city, and plenty of shops, bra and restaurants on the way. Big car park just across the road but £10 per day is expensive. Further away there are some slightly cheaper options.However, the room wasn't good for me - single room is very small with nowhere to hang or store clothes - if travelling alone better still to book a double room, I suspect. Very noisy as right by a busy cross-roads junction. Scaffolding outside and window very difficult to open. Breakfast is fine but limited.Once work in progress is completed it feels as though it will be a great choice but for now, you get what you pay for, which is an efficient place with awarm friendly welcome, comfortable bed, and clean and simple accommodation but not suitable for everyone. I will happily return but will give them time to finish the improvements before I do.

Response

Thank you for the great feedback and comments. We will look forward to having you stay with us again when all our work is complete and our facilities can be improved.

Reviewer:K | Sun 28th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Two runners - Rating 5/5

Used the Flying Dutchman as a base for the Isle of Wight Coastal Challenge with a friend. Room was lovely and very clean. Found the staff very kind and personable - would definitely recommend.

Response

Thank you for the lovely comments and great feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Adam U\'Glow J | Tue 2nd May 2017 | 3 years ago


Very Good - Rating 4/5

Room clean. No storage for clothes if you are staying for several days so a tallboy would be good. Can be a bit noisy as only single glazed and right by a junction. Slept well in comfortable bed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will stay here again.

Response

Thank you for your feedback and kind comments. We are awaiting a mini refurbishment which is allowing us to look at room arrangements and storage issues. Hopefully dates will be confirmed soon and this issue can be addressed and resolved. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda A | Tue 11th Apr 2017 | 3 years ago


Great Value and right in the heart of Southampton - Rating 4/5

Stayed here overnight for a work party, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean, had everything needed and I had a great undisturbed nights sleep. Only negative for me was Sunday morning I had to leave by 8am to go to work, and breakfast hadn't started. But to be fair, it was a Sunday morning. I would definitely stay here again.

Response

Thank you for your great comments .

Reviewer:Adam O | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 3 years ago


April 1st - 2nd - Rating 3/5

I thought I had booked a single room and ensuite but I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the spacious room and double bed. It is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel in an old building,I am always cautious of the showers being rubbish, either really hot or cold, but the shower was up to standards. Everything was as expected with the room. The only thing that I would have to say - not that its a fault for the Flying Dutchman is when I turned up after my full day of travelling I didn't realise when I booked the hotel it was also a pub! So I was embarrassed to go to the bouncers with my suitcases and scruffy face and hair and ask themwhere i check in, pushing through the groups of rowdy men, and then climbing up a maze of stairs with a REALLY heavy big suitcase (my room was on the top, though i appreciate this as it was peaceful) - obviously this is my fault, but i didn't realise when i booked what kind of hotel it was, I would have been better in a IBIS or something.

Response

Thank you for the feedback and am sorry that you felt uncomfortable when checking in. We are closely located to the Southampton Football clubs stadium which on home games means we can get very busy. However we do try make sure that our hotel guests are not too affected by this and the door staff help us to make sure guests can be checked in as a priority. We are glad you had a good stay apart from this and would hope you still consider staying at the Flying Dutchman in the future.

Reviewer:Lauren D | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 3 years ago