Reviews - Flying Dutchman Southampton

Great Place - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay. The staff are very helpful and attentive, definitely wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.

Response

Hi Kieran,Thank you for your review. I\\\'m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, your kind words about the staff will be passed on to our team! We hope to see you again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Kieran B | Sun 30th Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


A gem for a value price in Southampton - Rating 5/5

Nice hotel with a nice pub downstairs. Very quiet and close to Oxford Street and city center. Very convenient either for business or leisure. Rooms nice an clean and fantastic staff. Very good breakfast too. Will repeat for sure

Response

Hi Jesus,Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I\'m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and our location served your needs. Thank you for your kind comments on the rooms and our staff, I will be sharing this with them! I\'m also very happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast, I will pass this on to our kitchen team! We hope to see you again Jesus!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Jesus Lopez A | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Outstanding - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed my stay here - I was travelling on work and the friendliness of the staff and the comfort of the room made this feel like a home away from home.Would gladly have stayed over for a few days more.My thanks to Sian &Danny at the front desk for their warmth and friendship (and taxi bookings!) Loved the relaxed atmosphere of the pub and the screens showing sport as well as the hearty food off your menu. Apart from other things, chips of a quality I will never forget!The Flying Dutchman to me represented Southampton at its best.

Response

Hi Sharda,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I\'m so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I\'m glad we were able to make you feel welcome in Southampton! On behalf of myself and Danny, thank you very much for your kind words on our service, we loved having you as our guest! The kitchen have asked me to pass on their thanks for your kind comments on the food too! I hope you had a safe journey home, and if you ever find yourself in Southampton again, we would love to have you!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Sharda U | Fri 14th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Great place! - Rating 5/5

This is a really nice hotel with very efficient and friendly staff. I spent two nights here and will stay here again in the future. Warning! Watch out for the food - the portions are massive! Great breakfast as well.

Response

Hi Alastair,Thank you very much for your kind review! I\'m so pleased our team were able to provide you with what you needed for your stay. Your kind comments on the food has been passed onto our kitchen team and on behalf of them, thank you very much! We hope to see you again very soon.Sian

Reviewer:Alastair B | Tue 11th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Fantastic hotel- Rating 5/5

This was my third time I booked this hotel for my daughter. She loved the amazing breakfast .

Response

Hi Jade,Thank you so much for your kind review! I\\\'m so pleased your daughter is comfortable here and is being well-fed!!!Sian

Reviewer:jade e | Sat 8th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

Hotel was very clean and welcoming. Room wSgood size and very clean. Only snag was the TV wasnt working. Husbank doesnt sleep well and likes to watch tv in middle of the night. Will stay again if we come to a concert at st marys stadium

Response

Hi Sue,Thanks for your review. Thank you for your kind words on the hotel and the bedrooms. I do apologise about the television not working, please be assured we have now had professionals out in order to rectify this issue. I hope we see you again!Sian

Reviewer:Sue H | Tue 28th May 2019 | 5 months ago


Cost v quality - The Best Room I’ve Ever stayed In - Rating 5/5

Booked to double rooms, one superior double &1 standard double for my daughter..The bar area was slightly drab so wasn’t expecting too much, but on visiting the rooms was massively impressed.. Only payed just over £50 fo my room &just under that for my daughters, &have to be honest, I’ve payed well over double before for a so called boutique hotel in Portsmouth &got a whole lot less!Here’s a few things that impressed m in order:Huge RoomHuge Queen Size BedJacuzzi BathHuge Bathroom very nicely decoratedVery clean RoomNice plush carpetHeavy plush curtainsSmall things that went against itMaybe more staff at reception/bar/waitress, one person was trying to do it allBit noisy from main roadToilet seat wouldn’t stay upLoose tiles on bathroom floor (easily fixed with flexible silicone sealant)Overall though 9/10 &definitely would recommend &go back to!

Response

Hi Jon,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind comments on the rooms, we have been working very hard over the last couple of months to improve the quality of the rooms, so any positive feedback is greatly appreciated!The issues you have raised are being addressed. We are currently in the process of training new staff to improve on the efficiency of our service. The bathroom is being looked at by maintenance (although a small issue, we want to make sure it is done properly). We are also looking to improve the look of our downstairs bar, to hopefully match the standards of the rooms!Thank you once again for your kind review, your comments will be passed onto the team as we work to make further improvements!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Jon E | Fri 17th May 2019 | 6 months ago


A good hotel- Rating 4/5

The hotel was nice and clean, and the room was neatly decorated and came with little touches like biscuits and hot chocolate. Staff were welcoming and friendly, and a breakfast was included in the price, so overall good value for money. Check out is 10.30 so set your alarm!

Response

Hi Greg,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I\'m so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We have been working hard over the past couple of months to improve our hotel rooms and the service we provide - it\'s lovely to hear the hard work is paying off! Your kind words will be passed onto the team. We hope we will see you again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Greg T | Wed 15th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Convenient and comfortable- Rating 4/5

Great welcome, small but comfortable room in the heart of the trendy Oxford Street area of Southampton.Excellent breakfast with nice, caring staff

Response

Hi Roger,Thank you for your kind review! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to provide you with what you needed! Your kind words will be passed onto the staff and kitchen! We hope to see you again in the future!Kind regards.Sian

Reviewer:Roger T | Mon 13th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Amazing- Rating 5/5

Thank you so much for looking after my daughter Jade she said it was really nice . She loved the biscuits left in her room. She said breakfast was really nice .

Response

Hi Lorraine,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for choosing our hotel for your daughter. I\'m so pleased to hear she enjoyed her stay and was well looked after. We hope to see you again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Lorraine E | Sat 11th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Heerlijk hotel - Rating 5/5

Mooie schone kamer. Goed bed. Goed ontbijt. Parkeerplaats t.o het hotel.

Response

Hi Nicoline,Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments, we have been working hard to improve the comfort of the rooms so it\\\'s lovely to hear the improvements are paying off!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Nicoline van Z | Fri 10th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, fantastic breakfast, great price. I will definitely come back here next time I’m in Southampton!

Response

Hi Matthias,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for choosing to stay with us! I am so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Flying Dutchman! We very much look forward to seeing you again soon!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Matthias H | Wed 8th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Tick vg - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly good value.

Response

Hi Roger,Thank you for leaving a review and for choosing to stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We\'re constantly working to improve our service and meet our guest\'s needs, so it\'s lovely to hear that the hard work is paying off! If you\'re ever in Southampton again, we would love to have you stay with us!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Roger A | Wed 8th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Nice - Rating 4/5

Charming and warmfull wellcome .The girl who wellcome us on our arriving was very nice and helpfully. She gave us good information for our stay.Breakfast is good.Rooms are clean , good space.The toilet système is noisy.

Response

Hi Aude,Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for choosing to stay with us. It\'s lovely to hear the staff were helpful and able to provide you with what you needed! Your kind comments will be passed onto the kitchen and housekeeping department, also. I apologise for the noise, we are looking into ways to improve our plumbing system to minimise this.Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Aude R | Wed 8th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Great stay! - Rating 4/5

Rooms were clean and bed was very comfortable. Had a great tasty meal in the evening with 30% off. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious!

Response

Hi Donna,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for choosing to stay with us! It\'s wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for you kind comments, and if you\'re ever back in Southampton, we hope to see you again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:DONNA R | Tue 7th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Convenient hotel for Southampton half marathon- Rating 4/5

I choose this hotel based on price &location for the Southampton half marathon. My room was perfect for what I needed, staff very friendly, decent food, only gripe would be the drag act that performed on Sunday night, in trying to get people involved, was berating customers &people checking in

Response

Hi Neil,Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for choosing to stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and everything you needed was available for you. It\'s lovely to hear how friendly the staff were and your comments will be passed on to them! Your comments on the drag act will be taken into consideration for future events. Thank you for raising this concern.We would love to see you again sometime.Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Neil O | Tue 7th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Flying Dutchman, Southampton - Rating 4/5

great, relaxed place, nice staff. price very very good. Would use again.

Response

Hi Susan,Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that staff were polite and helpful. It\\\\\\\'s so lovely to know that the improvements we are making are making a difference to the quality of people\\\'s stay. We would love to see you again sometime!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:susan m | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Luxurious stay - Rating 5/5

We were blown away by the gorgeous decor, Hugh comfortable queen size bed and then we opened the bathroom door and Wow! A massive jacuzzi and walk in shower,lots of toiletries. Friendly staff,had a great stay.

Response

Hi Victoria,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for choosing to stay with us. It really is so lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We have been working really hard to make many improvements to the hotel, so we really appreciate any kind feedback we get. We would love to have you stay with us again Victoria!Kindest regards,Sian

Reviewer:Victoria E | Sun 28th Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Good value. Friendly staff brilliant location

Response

Hi Darren,Thank you so much for writing a review and for choosing to stay with us. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Flying Dutchman! Your kind words will be passed onto the staff.Thank you again Darren, we would love to see you again sometime!Regards,Sian

Reviewer:Darren O | Sun 28th Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Pleasant stay at the Flying Dutchman - Rating 5/5

Stayed for Easter weekend,good venue in terms of 10 mins from Southampton High St and 5 mins from area around Southampton docks.Lovely helpful staff, great breakfast on both days we were there.Smallish room with no cupboard for clothing, but the price with breakfast included means we could survive without the cupboard. :)

Response

Hi Ian,Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Flying Dutchman. I\'m very pleased to hear that staff were helpful and made your stay much more enjoyable. We would love to see you again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Ian Chisholm B | Wed 24th Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for one night at very short notice. The staff are great and the 'cabins' are fantastic. All facilities you would expect and more. First class breakfast included in the deal. Result!I'm going there again!

Response

Hi Simon,Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! It\'s so lovely to hear you will be visiting again. Thank you again Simon, we look forward to seeing you!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Simon B | Wed 24th Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Easter Weekend Saturday - Rating 5/5

I had a really enjoyable stay,friendly staff greeted me on arrival and helpful behind the bar (sorry didn’t catch her name,ginger hair,great smile). Food was really good,bed comfy and breakfast ideal the next morning. Will definitely recommend to others if visiting Southampton.

Response

Hi Duncan,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for choosing to stay with us at Flying Dutchman! I\'m so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! It\'s wonderful to hear that staff are making such a great impression on the guests. We would love to have you back again next time you are in Southampton for the weekend.Thank you once again Duncan!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Duncan L | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


lovely place and staff- Rating 4/5

really enjoyable stay. only problem was not being able to turn off the bathroom radiator. so it was very very hot 😕. very nice room and food thank you for having me 😊

Response

Hi David,Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing to stay with us. I\'m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and staff were helpful. I apologise about the radiator incident in the room, this will be looked into ASAP. Thank you once again David, we would love to have you stay with us again!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:david p | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


FUN PLACE - Rating 5/5

Price / quality was definitely oke. Great people, good food, sufficient drinks and great location. We'll be back one day! Thanks for an unforgettable weekend. Cheers, Oscar

Response

Hi Oscar,Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It\'s wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Keep an eye on our social media to watch out for improvements taking place across the hotel. We would love to see you again sometime!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Oscar M | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


My stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night, as I was visiting my daughter.Couldn’t fault the accommodation, room was very clean and modern. Breakfast was great, and a good choice. Very helpful and friendly staff. Overall, great place to stay

Response

Hi Jon,Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It\'s lovely to hear that the staff training and small changes are making a big difference in a guests overall stay. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, it would be lovely to have you back sometime!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Jon B | Sun 14th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


football away day - Rating 5/5

Really impressive staff and food was excellent also, very much enjoyed the stay, thank you.

Response

Hi Mark,Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Match days are very busy for us so I\'m happy to hear that standards were kept even with the stress of a football day. We would love to see you again sometime!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:MARK T | Sun 7th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Lovely stay.- Rating 5/5

Myself and my husband stayed at the flying dutchman hotel in Southampton on the 25/26th of March. The whole stay was great from the room hotel bars staff and very much the cooked English breakfast included in the price. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

Response

Hi Jean,Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We very much loved having you and would love to see you again some time!Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Jean G | Wed 27th Mar 2019 | 7 months ago


Lovely one night stay - Rating 5/5

Was traveling on business during the week and stayed one night. Very comfy large bed. Nice room. Friendly staff. The cooked breakfast was good too.

Response

Hi Jonathan,Thank you very much for your kind feedback, we\'re really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon.Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Jonathan B | Thu 28th Feb 2019 | 8 months ago


Great room and hospitality - Rating 4/5

I opted for the extra large double and I am not kidding that you could sleep a family of four in this bed! The food was good and the staff were warm and friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay again.

Response

Thank you very much for your kind review Peter, we\'re glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Flying Dutchman. We hope to see you again soon.Kind regards,Sian

Reviewer:Peter H | Wed 27th Feb 2019 | 8 months ago


Never a bad stay - Rating 5/5

Staff are always very welcoming and the rooms are spotlessly clean. The food is good and so is the location. This hotel is great value for money and I'd high;y recommend it.

Response

Thank you very much for the kind words Paul - we hope to see you again soon.Regards,Sian.

Reviewer:Paul B | Thu 21st Feb 2019 | 8 months ago


Brilliant place and breakfast - Rating 5/5

New clean and top drawer customer service.

Response

Thank you for your feedback David, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay at The Flying Dutchman. Hope to see you again.Regards,Sian

Reviewer:david m | Thu 21st Feb 2019 | 8 months ago


Excellent friendly comfortable hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent value for money, comfortable and friendly atmosphere, breakfast is amazing, close to all the bars and restaurants. There is only 1 place I would stop in Southampton and that’s the Flying Dutchman. 5 stars from me thanks

Response

Hi Stephen. all of us here at The Flying Dutchman really appreciate your kind words and are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.Regards,Sian.

Reviewer:stephen b | Sun 3rd Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


Happy customer- Rating 5/5

A very good room staff very helpful and breakfast brilliant very thing very clean

Response

Hi Kevin,Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We\'re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.Regards,Sian

Reviewer:Kevin B | Fri 1st Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

My wife &I stayed midweek for a couple of nights. Great location, great price. Full English breakfast was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms lovely, clean and warm with all facilities working correctly. We would definitely stay at the Flying Dutchman again.

Response

Hi Martin,Thank you so much for your review and i am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.We very much look forward to you staying with us again and hope you will enjoy even more with the improvements we planning.Kindest RegardsJo

Reviewer:M | Fri 18th Jan 2019 | 10 months ago


Almost perfect - Rating 3/5

Hello,Lovely and friendly place. Except my experience qt breakfast. The coffee had the color of a tea and tasted awful. And after waiting 20 minutes for two toasts which never were served, I left without having my breakfast. The waiter just said he was sorry to hear that I had to leave without eating because it was taking too long. Quite disappointing.Regards.

Response

Hi Corinne,How dissapointing that we let you down right at the end. i am sincerely sorry for this.Please be assured i will take this up with the staff member in question.I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and if you are in the area again please contact me directly as i would love to offer you a small token as a way of an apology.Kindest regardsJo

Reviewer:Corinne T | Wed 16th Jan 2019 | 10 months ago


Friendly personal - Rating 3/5

The personal is very friendly and helpful. Thank you for the nice stay.

Response

Thank you for your review Bjorn i am very glad you enjoyed your stayregardsJo

Reviewer:Bjorn T | Fri 21st Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


Comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

Basic comfortable room.Had a bit of a problem with the shower ( door fell off) but managed to deal with it.Only issue was parking.£5 to park overnight on the street.But o the plus side, sky sports in the bar - great

Response

Hi Ian,Thank you for the review, the showers are certainly something we are looking into.Im glad you enjoyed the bar and the sky sports and i hope we see you againRegardsJo

Reviewer:Ian P | Thu 13th Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


Great value, great breakfast - Rating 5/5

The title says it all. A quality full English breakfast is included and the room is cosy and clean. Bathrooms in the single rooms could do with a smaller sink though - not a great choice given the size.

Response

Hi Paul,Thank you for your review, i am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.i appreciate your constructive criticism and we will certainly look into itRegardsJo

Reviewer:Mr Paul B | Thu 22nd Nov 2018 | 11 months ago


Pleasant stay- Rating 4/5

Overall a pleasant stay and would book again.However, have two things that could be improved on. Had to queue at the busy bar to find out where the reception was as there were no signs indicating where to go and what to do. Apparently you have to check in at the bar. Not ideal especially when the place is full with football crowds and have to wait over 10 min just to get close to the bar.The room was on central heating system and did not have seperate heaters in the room. There were no extra blankets either. I found the room chilly during the day and i was cold at night.

Response

Hi Lina,We\'re happy to hear that your overall experience with us was adequate, however there is always room for improvement. Thank you very much for bringing these issues to our attention, we are working as a team to improve the hotel and your comments have been taken on board and the necessary action has been taken.I would also like to apologise for the delay in our response.Regards,Sian.

Reviewer:Lina S | Wed 31st Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


return visit - Rating 5/5

everything great thank you

Reviewer:KAREN P | Wed 26th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Room- Rating 5/5

Very clean room with tv free viewAnd on suit with tea and coffeeStaff very helpful and pleasantSome one there if you want helpOr information

Reviewer:Mark S | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


2 night stay - Rating 4/5

A really comfortable stay in lovely accommodation and super friendly staff.

Reviewer:Tony L | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Room was brilliant lots of space nice and cleanStaff were very friendlyBreakfast was lovelyWould definitely stay again for the price it was brilliant

Reviewer:Britney W | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Mon avis - Rating 5/5

Personnelles dévouées, gentilles. On pense revenir la prochaine fois.

Reviewer:Sabrina Marie J | Tue 18th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Mon avis - Rating 5/5

Personnelles dévouées, gentilles. On pense revenir la prochaine fois.

Reviewer:Sabrina Marie J | Tue 18th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


We liked it - would book again - Rating 4/5

We stayed at the Flying Dutchman only one night. We stayed in Room No. 2 which is a large Room with twin beds. Everything was clean and comfortable. We can't say anything about the breakfast because we left very early to catch ferry at Dover. We would book again.

Reviewer:Edda K | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

I needed somewhere to stay so I didn't have to drive after my Hen Do. I got a very reasonable single room. I was over the moon it had a hairdryer! It was at the front of the building so potentially noisy with traffic but in my circumstances that didn't matter ;) I didn't have the buffet breakfast as I met friends for brunch. I'd definitely consider staying there again.

Reviewer:Ruth K | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Adukt family stayimg for wedding - Rating 4/5

Thank you for looking after us all so well.The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. Everything was clean and nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewer:Ray H | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


our stay - Rating 4/5

Nice size bedroom,clean and nicely laid out staff very friendly and accomdating

Reviewer:Carole J | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfortable and friendly hotel - Rating 4/5

We were travelling as a family and found the rooms very comfortable.Charlie was helpful with the parking situation and he and his staff were friendly and welcoming.The hotel is well situated as there are many good restaurants etc nearby.It is also close to the old town if you are interested in history ( as I am) Many thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Paul B | Wed 27th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Staff made us really welcome,very helpful,nice room,would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Sarah S | Sat 16th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Great Atmosphere - Rating 5/5

This place is a real hidden gem. Nice clean and comfortable rooms, with everything you need.The bar is fantastic, really welcoming and friendly people that make you feel at home and comfortable.I'll definitely be staying again next time I'm in the area.

Reviewer:Chris E | Fri 15th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Jennifer Yates & son staying for on night en route to cruise ship. - Rating 5/5

Brief stay but enjoyable. Staff good. A chair in the room would have been useful. Would return again if in S’ton .

Reviewer:Jennifer Y | Sun 27th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Brilliant stay on Wednesday 2nd May 2018, I cannot fault anything. Service was excellent, rooms were superb,just been refurbed, very clean and tidy, bar staff very efficient. The following morning I opted for a cooked breakfast, which was cooked from fresh, and tasted fantastic. I will definitely be going back to the Flying Dutchman

Reviewer:Rod M | Fri 4th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Supportive, patient and kind staff - Rating 5/5

The owner and staff were lovely and incredibly kind, patient and supportive when dealing with my difficult and mentally unwell daughter. Exceptional kindness.

Reviewer:Holly H | Fri 16th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place- Rating 5/5

Really happy with choosing the Flying Dutchman, the rooms are clean and modern with en suites, great value considering breakfast included. Good central location. The pub is really good to. The icing on the cake are the bar staff and landlord. Sophie and Steph were awesome and helped us out with where to go in the evening and also Brian spent a lot of time talking to us. I would definitely come back here again and probably will do. Great job guys you have a cracking little set up there :-)

Reviewer:Mark L | Mon 5th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Flying Dutchman - visit - Rating 5/5

Staff were very friendly, The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. Southampton parking is rubbish but there is a chargeable Car Park opposite which always had spaces. For southampton beer was cheap too.

Reviewer:Madeline R | Sat 24th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Great value - Rating 4/5

Staff were friendly and helpful. Room clean and bed very comfortable. I had a single room that was a little bit of a squeeze but adequate for my needs. Only thing to moan about was the noise from road traffic all through the night. I think I was just unlucky to have a room right at the front of the building overlooking the traffic junction and it probably wouldn't have been an issue with the other rooms.

Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback and a great review.

Reviewer:Mr e | Fri 8th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Overnight stay for work - Rating 5/5

Great value for money, friendly chatty and smiling staff and a cracking cooked breakfast.

Response

Thank you so much for the great review.

Reviewer:Robert P | Thu 7th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Big bed! - Rating 5/5

We opted for a room with a super king bed and slept well. As the owners point out the location can be noisy but we were on second floor and I took earplugs and slept well. Free simple breakfast or pay a modest price for a cooked breakfast. Friendly owner chatted and I appreciated that he popped out to get me a non dairy alternative for milk. Whole place was clean and we had a good stay. We’d go again :)

Response

Thank you for the lovely comments and great review. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Charlotte N | Sun 3rd Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent value for money. - Rating 5/5

I can't fault the Flying Dutchman. Friendly, clean and ideally situated.

Response

Thank you so much for staying with us and hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Sean P | Fri 1st Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Most noticeable was the very helpful and friendly staff. Room was comfortable and enjoyed the cooked breakfast. Location was perfect but parking was a bit of a problem. Would recommend and have left a positive review on booking.com Thanks to all for making it a pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Richard H | Sun 26th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Good experience- Rating 4/5

Excellent staff. Good experience. I recommend this hotel

Response

Thank you for the great review.

Reviewer:C | Wed 8th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


No complaints - Rating 4/5

Clean, comfortable and friendly 👍

Response

Thank you so much for the great review.

Reviewer:Anthony F | Sat 4th Nov 2017 | 2 years ago


One night stay - Rating 4/5

Room was good clean and tidy, ensuite was on the small side but adequate for one night. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would use hotel again.

Response

Thank you for the great feedback we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewer:Christine Y | Fri 13th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Location, Location, Location - Rating 5/5

Great little pub right in the center of southampton. Perfect for a night out, walking distance from bars and restaurants. Rooms a good size and had a massive bed! breakfast is included and good choice too.Would definately stay here again.

Response

Thank you so much for the great review and kind comments. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Reviewer:Alan T | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Comfortable and clean - Rating 4/5

Although the single room was small, it was comfortable and clean.The continental breakfast was good and is served up to noon which is a very welcome change from the normal 9.30-10.00am deadline!

Response

Your feedback and comments are very much appreciated so thank you for taking the time to leave a great review.Kind regards

Reviewer:ElaineG | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


good stay and value fir money - Rating 5/5

Did exactly what it said on the tinGreat value for money. Clean, functional,Excellently located and very helpful reception. Wouldnt hesitatr to stay there again

Response

Thank you so much for the great review and comments. We have tried to advertise the Hotel and bar as it is and altho our services are limited we want them to be the best they can be. Hope to see you again in the future.Kind regards

Reviewer:Max A | Fri 4th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Nice rooms and friendly staff- Rating 4/5

Nice and easy to book in, I was shown up to my room which is rare these days. Comfortable room, decent shower and generally very clean. Staff were very helpful. If I had one gripe it would be that the breakfast was served a little late (8am) but I will stay again when in the area

Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. The issue you have highlighted is being looked at and we are hoping with the refurbishment work that you could see was currently taking place, the hotel can provide more facilities such as cooked breakfast at an earlier time. We hope that if you return to the Hotel at a later date you will be happier with our services and can see an improvement.

Reviewer:Lee D | Fri 14th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


A very comfortable stay in a pleasant environment- Rating 4/5

The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and keen to do anything to make our stay comfortable. Breakfast was a bonus we hadn't expected and was a nice surprise. We had requested a quiet room and that request was fulfilled. Everyone there is working hard to make things as good as they can be.

Response

Thank you so much for the great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us comments.

Reviewer:Joan M | Wed 12th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


well located - Rating 3/5

from the dutchman, so easy to get anywhere in southampton - clean/neat room (though very small) and bathroom - in spite of street noise, very quiet by 11PM or so and slept well in a comfortable bed -

Response

Thank you for your kind feedback. We\'re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future, should you choose our hotel again! Kindest regards from all the team at the Flying Dutchman!

Reviewer:Kathleen E | Sun 18th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Goodplace to stay for St mary\'s stadium- Rating 5/5

Very nice stay for Robbieconcert.Short walk to stadium and Oxford Street. Lovely breakfast good selection to choose from,friendly staff clean room I recommend this hotel.

Response

We really appreciate the great feedback and review. Hope to see you again.

Reviewer:Mr. STEFAN N | Thu 8th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Stay at the flying dutchman - Rating 4/5

Comfortable roomFriend and helpful staffClean environmentpleasant stay

Response

Thank you very much for the review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Cedric C | Sat 3rd Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Work in progress - Rating 3/5

Overall mixed. Low cost option, clean and friendly but wasn't really suitable for my needs for this trip. However, under new management and lots in progress and plannned - feels as though it's worth a revisit when all is done. New owners here are lovely - friendly, helpful and efficient. The location is also great - 10 mins walk from Ocean Cruise Terminal and 15 mins from West Quay through the old part of the city, and plenty of shops, bra and restaurants on the way. Big car park just across the road but £10 per day is expensive. Further away there are some slightly cheaper options.However, the room wasn't good for me - single room is very small with nowhere to hang or store clothes - if travelling alone better still to book a double room, I suspect. Very noisy as right by a busy cross-roads junction. Scaffolding outside and window very difficult to open. Breakfast is fine but limited.Once work in progress is completed it feels as though it will be a great choice but for now, you get what you pay for, which is an efficient place with awarm friendly welcome, comfortable bed, and clean and simple accommodation but not suitable for everyone. I will happily return but will give them time to finish the improvements before I do.

Response

Thank you for the great feedback and comments. We will look forward to having you stay with us again when all our work is complete and our facilities can be improved.

Reviewer:K | Sun 28th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Two runners - Rating 5/5

Used the Flying Dutchman as a base for the Isle of Wight Coastal Challenge with a friend. Room was lovely and very clean. Found the staff very kind and personable - would definitely recommend.

Response

Thank you for the lovely comments and great feedback. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Adam U\'Glow J | Tue 2nd May 2017 | 2 years ago


Very Good - Rating 4/5

Room clean. No storage for clothes if you are staying for several days so a tallboy would be good. Can be a bit noisy as only single glazed and right by a junction. Slept well in comfortable bed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will stay here again.

Response

Thank you for your feedback and kind comments. We are awaiting a mini refurbishment which is allowing us to look at room arrangements and storage issues. Hopefully dates will be confirmed soon and this issue can be addressed and resolved. We hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda A | Tue 11th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Great Value and right in the heart of Southampton - Rating 4/5

Stayed here overnight for a work party, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean, had everything needed and I had a great undisturbed nights sleep. Only negative for me was Sunday morning I had to leave by 8am to go to work, and breakfast hadn't started. But to be fair, it was a Sunday morning. I would definitely stay here again.

Response

Thank you for your great comments .

Reviewer:Adam O | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


April 1st - 2nd - Rating 3/5

I thought I had booked a single room and ensuite but I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the spacious room and double bed. It is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel in an old building,I am always cautious of the showers being rubbish, either really hot or cold, but the shower was up to standards. Everything was as expected with the room. The only thing that I would have to say - not that its a fault for the Flying Dutchman is when I turned up after my full day of travelling I didn't realise when I booked the hotel it was also a pub! So I was embarrassed to go to the bouncers with my suitcases and scruffy face and hair and ask themwhere i check in, pushing through the groups of rowdy men, and then climbing up a maze of stairs with a REALLY heavy big suitcase (my room was on the top, though i appreciate this as it was peaceful) - obviously this is my fault, but i didn't realise when i booked what kind of hotel it was, I would have been better in a IBIS or something.

Response

Thank you for the feedback and am sorry that you felt uncomfortable when checking in. We are closely located to the Southampton Football clubs stadium which on home games means we can get very busy. However we do try make sure that our hotel guests are not too affected by this and the door staff help us to make sure guests can be checked in as a priority. We are glad you had a good stay apart from this and would hope you still consider staying at the Flying Dutchman in the future.

Reviewer:Lauren D | Mon 3rd Apr 2017 | 2 years ago